For the first time in 85 years, The All State is the best college newspaper in the Southeastern U.S.

At the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC) from Thursday, Feb. 18, until Saturday, Feb. 20, The All State won 12 awards including first overall in the Best College Newspaper category and third overall in the Best College Website category.

In individual awards, Photo Editor Taylor Slifko, Editor-in-Chief Katelyn Clark and Staff Writer Sarah Eskildson placed second in the Public Service Journalism category.

Clark placed first in the Best Advertising Staff category.

Slifko placed second in the Best Multimedia Journalist category.

News Editor Sean McCully placed fifth in the Best Newspaper Layout Designer category.

Graphic Designer Lewis West placed fourth in the Best Graphic Designer category.

Managing Editor Ethan Steinquest placed third in the Best Special Event Reporter category.

Perspectives Editor Elena Spradlin placed fourth in the Best Opinion-Editorial Writer category.

Assistant Perspectives Editor Shelby Watson placed fourth in the Best Press Photography category.

Assistant Features Editor Andrew Wadovick placed third in the Best Arts and Entertainment Writer category.

Ben Goodman placed fourth in the Best TV News Feature category.

This is the second time in The All State’s 85-year history that they have won a first place award at a regional or national conference. Previously, past Graphic Designer Christy Walker placed first regionally at SEJC in 2013 in the Best News-Editorial Artist/Illustrator category. Walker also placed second at the Associated Collegiate Press conference in 2012 in the Cartooning category.

APSU hosted this year’s SEJC for the first time since 2002.