The All State staff returned to Clarksville with 10 awards from the Southeast Journalism Conference held Thursday, Feb. 16, through Saturday, Feb. 18, at the University of Mississippi.

In the Best of the South competition, judged by a group of industry professionals prior to the conference, The All State received nine awards. Twenty-nine colleges submitted 469 entries for consideration.

As a staff, The All State ranked No. 6 Best College Newspaper, No. 4 Best College Website, No. 2 Best Public Service Journalism and No. 2 Best College Magazine.

Individually, staff photographer Hunter Abrams placed No. 1 in the Best Press Photographer category, with alumna and former Photo Editor Taylor Slifko ranking No. 2.

Editor-in-Chief Celeste Malone ranked No. 2 in the Best Magazine Page Layout Designer category, Features Editor Andrew Wadovick placed No. 6 in the Best Arts and Entertainment Writer category and Managing Editor Ethan Steinquest ranked No. 8 in the Best News Writer category.

The All State also entered various onsite competitions held during the conference and claimed another award, with Managing Editor Ethan Steinquest ranking No. 3 in the Copy Editing competition.

These awards come in addition to The All State’s two Pinnacle Awards from the College Media Association during its Fall National Convention in October 2016. A group of 75 judges reviewed 2,868 submissions from 176 colleges.

Sports Editor Glavine Day ranked No. 2 for Best Sports Page/Spread, and alumna and former staff photographer Dani Hunter placed No. 2 in Best General News Photography.

The Southeast Journalism Conference has been held annually since 1987 at universities across the region and has grown to include 37 member schools. Its stated mission is to encourage interest in student journalism and create closer ties among journalism schools in the southeastern U.S.

Harding University will host SEJC in 2018. For more information, visit