On Thursday, March 17, APSU Head Men’s Basketball Coach Dave Loos coached his 800th game. Loos has gone 490-310 in his 26 seasons as APSU’s head coach.

As a player, Loos went to Memphis State from 1966-1969 where he was a point guard. From 1969-1970, Loos worked as the assistant coach at his alma mater, Memphis State. He then moved to Christian Brothers, or CBU, until 1974 where he was an assistant coach.

Loos then took a step down to the high school level from 1974-1982 at Mehlville High School.

In 1982, Loos went back to CBU as a head coach for four years.

At CBU, Loos finished with an overall record of 82-53 and 42-20 in the conference.

In 1986, Loos returned to his alma mater Memphis State as the assistant coach.

Since 1990, Loos has been the head coach of APSU.

In the 2015-16 season, the Govs had a miracle run as the first No. 8 seed to ever make it to the OVC Championship. They defeated the No. 2 seed University of Tennessee at Martin 83-73, also becoming the first No. 8 seed to ever win the OVC Tournament.

On the same day as Game 1, Loos’ granddaughter Rhyan Loos successfully had a cancerous tumor removed. After APSU making the tournament and wearing #Rally4Rhyan warmup shirts, Rhyan’s name is now known across the country. ESPN, USAToday and several other major media outlets have done stories recognizing Loos and his granddaughter.

At APSU, Loos has made four NCAA Tournament appearances, won four Ohio Valley Conference Championships and has been the regular season OVC Champion four times.

Loos also won OVC Coach of the Year in 1991, 1997, 2004 and 2008.

From 1997-2013, Loos also served as the athletic director of APSU.

In Feb. of 2008, Loos was inducted into the APSU Hall of Fame as the most successful coach in OVC history.

In APSU’s basketball arena, the Dunn Center and Aaron Arena, the court was renamed Dave Loos Court to honor his success.

Loos has had five 20-win seasons and 13 winning seasons in his 26 years as APSU’s head coach.

Loos’ contract is up this year and he has not said whether he will continue to coach the APSU Governors during the 2016-17 season.