The 2013 Austin Peay baseball team continues to fill up the record books, as eight players were named to the All-Ohio Valley Conference team for the regular season, tying the record in APSU history. Six of the eight names were first team All-OVC recipients, which breaks the previous record in program history.

The awards were announced on Tuesday, May 21 at the OVC Awards Banquet in Jackson, Tenn.

Junior first baseman Craig Massoni was named OVC Player of the Year in his first season as a Governor, leading the conference in hitting with an impressive .389 average. Massoni also tied for first in home runs (15), while coming in second for RBI (64). In 29 conference games, Massoni’s average was an astonishing .484, with a slugging percentage of .895.

Senior closer Tyler Rogers also brought home top honors, being recognized as the Pitcher of the Year in the OVC. Rogers shattered multiple school records with his 20 saves during the regular season, including saves in a season and all-time saves, and is currently tied with Todd Hornsby for most in OVC history with 32.

Among other APSU first team selections were seniors Reed Harper and Cody Hudson, junior second baseman Jordan Hankins, and starting pitcher Lee Ridenhour.

The Govs were also represented well in the second team honors, as catcher P.J. Torres and senior starting pitcher Casey Delgado made the list of names.

The full list of awards are listed below:

OVC Player of the Year – Craig Massoni, Austin Peay
Pitcher of the Year – Tyler Rogers, Austin Peay
Coach of the Year – Matt Braga, Tennessee Tech
Rookie of the Year – Kyle Nowlin, Eastern Kentucky

First Team All-OVC

C – Sean Hagen, Eastern Kentucky
1B – Craig Massoni, Austin Peay
2B – Jordan Hankins, Austin Peay
SS – Reed Harper, Austin Peay
3B – Daniel Miles, Tennessee Tech
OF – Cody Hudson, Austin Peay
OF – Shaun Ball, Eastern Kentucky
OF – Michael Bishop, Jacksonville State
DH – Brandon Thomasson, Tennessee Tech
UT – Josh Davis, Belmont
SP – Lee Ridenhour, Austin Peay
SP – Dan Ludwig, Belmont
SP – Tristan Archer, Tennessee Tech
RP – Tyler Rogers, Austin Peay

Second Team All-OVC

C – P.J. Torres, Austin Peay
1B – Zach Stephens, Tennessee Tech
2B – Zach Zarzour, Tennessee Tech
SS – Dylan Bosheers, Tennessee Tech
3B – Brant Valach, Eastern Illinois
OF – Drew Turner, Belmont
OF – Caleb Howell, Eastern Illinois
OF – James Abraham, Tennessee Tech
DH – Brandon Eggenschwiler, Murray State
UT – Coty Blanchard, Jacksonville State
UT – Kane Sweeney, Morehead State
SP – Casey Delgado, Austin Peay
SP – Chase Brookshire, Belmont
SP – Travis Felax, SIUE
RP – Travis Stout, Jacksonville State
RP – Seth Lucio, Tennessee Tech

All-Freshman Team

OF/P – Dom Veltri, Belmont
RHP – Jake Johansmeier, Eastern Illinois
OF – Kyle Nowlin, Eastern Kentucky
2B – Kenny Hostrander, Eastern Kentucky
SS – Luke Wurzelbacher, Eastern Kentucky
3B – Doug Teegarden, Eastern Kentucky
DH – Paschal Petrongolo, Jacksonville State
RHP – Graham Officer, Jacksonville State
3B – Alan Mocahbee, Morehead State
RHP – Cody Maerz, Murray State
OF – Taylor Mathews, Murray State
OF – Clayton Evans, Southeast Missouri
SS – Skylar Geissinger, SIUE

Photo: Craig Massoni (Josh Vaughn/The All State)