Home / Sports / Edmonson, Hanley and Faulkner receive OVC honors

Edmonson, Hanley and Faulkner receive OVC honors

By MARLON SCOTT | Senior Staff Writer

As the OVC Men’s and Women’s tournament came to a close this weekend, the OVC announced the winners of several of its tournament and season awards.

Gov junior guard TyShwan Edmonson, Lady Gov junior guard Whitney Hanley and senior guard Brooke Faulkner were among those honored.

Edmonson was named to the 2010 -11 All-OVC First-Team and the OVC All-Newcomer Team.

This was Edmonson’s first year at APSU. He transferred from Midland College. He began the season coming off the bench and eventually became the Govs’ leading scorer. He averaged 17.6 ppg in the regular season and scored 30 or more points twice. He earned two OVC Player of the Week honors during the season.

Hanley was named to the 2010-11 All-OVC Second-Team.

Hanley has earned two OVC titles with the Lady Govs and has improved each season since joining the team as a freshman. This season she was the Lady Govs leading scorer averaging 12 ppg. She was also ranked third in the OVC in free throw percentage.

This was Hanley’s first time named to the All-OVC Second-Team. She was named to the OVC All-Newcomer Team in the 2008-09 season.

Faulkner was named to the 2010-11 OVC All-Tournament Team.

Faulkner scored double-digit points in two of the three tournament games the Lady Govs competed in. She averaged 14.3 points and 4.3 rebounds in tournament play. Faulkner averaged 7.6 ppg in the regular season and was fourth on the team in steals and assists.

The full listings of the 2010-11 OVC award winners are listed below.

2010-11 All-OVC Men’s Basketball Teams and Award Winners
OVC Player of the Year: Kenneth Faried, Morehead State
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Kenneth Faried, Morehead State
OVC Freshmen of the Year: Patrick Miller, Tennessee State
OVC Coach of the Year: Billy Kennedy, Murray State

All-OVC First-Team
Kenneth Faried, Morehead State
TyShwan Edmondson, Austin Peay
Kevin Murphy, Tennessee Tech
Demonte Harper, Morehead State
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State

All-OVC Second-Team
Leon Powell, Southeast Missouri
Isacc Miles, Murray State
B.J. Jenkins, Murray State
Robert Covington, Tennessee State
Kenny Moore, Tennessee State

OVC All-Newcomer Team
TyShwan Edmondson, Austin Peay
Kenny Moore, Tennessee State
Leon Powell, Southeast Missouri
Zac Swansey, Tennessee Tech
Patrick Miller, Tennessee State

2010-11 All-OVC Women’s Basketball Teams and Award Winners

OVC Player of the Year: Chynna Bozeman, Morehead State
OVC Freshman of the Year: Heather Butler, UT Martin
OVC C0-Defensive Player of the Year: Tacarra Hayes, Tennessee Tech; Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin
OVC Coach of the Year: Sytia Messer, Tennessee Tech

All-OVC First-Team
Chynna Bozeman, Morehead State
Tacarra Hayes, Tennessee Tech
Heather Butler, UT Martin
Ta’Kenya Nixon, Eastern Illinois
Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin

All-OVC Second-Team
Ashar Harris, Morehead State
Mariah King, Eastern Illinois
Whitney Hanley, Austin Peay
Mariah Robinson, Murray State.
Alex Jones, Eastern Kentucky

OVC All-Newcomer Team
Heather Butler, UT Martin
Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin
Jessica Winfrey, Murray State
Molly Heady, Tennessee Tech
Marie Carpenter, Eastern Kentucky
Tayla Foster, Tennessee State

All-OVC Tournament Team

Brooke Faulkner, Austin Peay

Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin

Heather Butler, UT Martin

Tacarra Hayes, Tennessee Tech

Chyna Bozeman, Morehead State


About Aaliyah Mitchell

Check Also

Steve Harris reflects on his career as a Gov

From only reaching a season-high of six points and only eleven minutes on the court ...